Becoming a New Venice Florida Resident
To become a legal resident, file a Declaration of Domicile form with the County Clerk of the Court, South County Administration Center, 4000 S. Tamiami Trail, South Venice, 492 3020, or register to vote.
New residents must apply for a Florida driver's license within 30 days of moving to the state. A driving test and an eye exam are required. Provide identification in the form of a Social Security card, birth certificate, valid out-of-state driver's license, voter registration card, or vehicle registration. Examination Office, 1212 Jacaranda Blvd., Venice Pines Shopping Center, 483-5997.
Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles
Register automobiles within 30 days ofestablishing residence in Florida. Proof of ownership must be shown.
Filing for a Homestead Exemption
Permanent Florida residents (as of January 1) are eligible for a $25,000 homestead exemption on their primary residence. Taxpayers must file between January 2 and March 1 with the County Property Appraiser at 4000 S. Tamiami Trail, 492- 3030.
Florida does not tax personal income, salary, dividends, interest, or capital gains. Tangible personal business property is appraised on machinery, equipment and certain rental units. An Intangible Personal Property Tax is levied on stocks, bonds, and other securities with the first $20,000 being exempt. Estate taxes for Florida residents are deducted from the amount claimed by the Federal Government. Real Estate (ad valorem) taxes are levied on 100% of assessed real estate valuation, minus Homestead Exemption, if applicable. Residents living within the corporate limits of the City of Venice pay both city and county taxes on real estate; homeowners in the unincorporated areas pay only the county tax (1993 Millage rates were 13.8277 for County residents; plus 3.8060 if residing in the city.) The State Sales Tax is 6%, plus Sarasota County collects 1% sales tax for capital improvements. (The County also collects a 2% Tourism Tax on accommodations). Tax Collector's Office, 4000 Tamiami Tr. S., 492-3000.
Must be 18 years old, a U.S. citizen, and a permanent resident of Sarasota County. Register at the Supervisor of Elections office, 4000 S. Tamiami Trail, 492-3060.
There are advantages to transferring securities and personal property to Florida as there is no State inheritance tax. Contact an attorney to see if you need to change your will to comply with Florida law.
All motor boats used in Florida must be registered at the Tax Collector's Office. Boats with out-of-state registration need not register in Florida if they are here for 90 days or less.
Purchase license at the Tax Collector's Office (492- 3000) or at nearly any bait or sporting goods store. Fees vary. If over age 65, hunting and fishing licenses are free.
this site is maintained and operated by:
ParrComm Internet Solutions
No-fault insurance (P.I.P.) is required on all private passenger vehicles licensed in Florida and on those of non-residents in the state for more than 90 days.